07020 Forums  

Go Back   07020 Forums > Of Interest > Restaurants, Bars, Hotels, Caterers, etc.

Restaurants, Bars, Hotels, Caterers, etc. Where and what to eat and drink. restaurants.07020.com

Old 10-12-2005, 01:16 PM

Dani-X is on a distinguished road
Restaurant Review - Azucar

While I'm not a professional reviewer, I can't help sharing some of my favorite restaurants with my local community. Here's a quick read about a recent night at Azucar Cuban Cuisine. Enjoy!

The lights are low, the atmosphere is warm, Cuban memorabilia adorns the walls and the music and crowd are lively. Upon entering the restaurant we were politely greeted by the ever-charming hostesses, Norma. It had been a few months since we had last dined here and we were surprised to see that the main floor of the restaurant was now smoke-free! Perhaps being named AOL City’s Best Ethnic Eats for 2005 had something to do with that! But in keeping with their traditions of “smokers always welcome,” Azucar has opened the smoking lounge on the second floor for dinner.

While going over the menu, our fantastic and knowledgeable waitress came by to tell us about the evening’s specials and uncork the wine we had brought into the restaurant… yes, Azucar is BYO. We started our meal off with a simple dish of beef empanadas. The picadillo-like filling was piping hot with perfectly seasoned ground beef with raisins and green olives. The flaky crusts were golden brown and crispy enough to hold their contents but savory enough to melt in the mouth. They were served with a mojo dipping sauce that was a big hit with the garlic lovers and had just the right amount of citrus zing.